Standards Steering Committee

The Standards Steering Committee (SSC) is charged with providing oversight of the Cradle to Cradle Certified® Product Standard and is the main governance body for the standard. At its discretion and subject to approval of the C2CPII’s Board of Directors, the SSC maintains and further develops the standard’s requirements as it deems appropriate and necessary to preserve the integrity and viability of the standard and evolve the standard in accordance with C2CPII’s Mission and Strategic Plan.

The SSC is composed of technical and subject matter experts from a variety of stakeholder groups. These stakeholders may include qualified representatives of product manufacturers and suppliers; government or multilateral agencies; nonprofit, environmental or social compliance organizations; standards development bodies, academia and research institutions; service provider organizations, independent consultancies or other related entities. SSC members are appointed by the C2CPII Board of Directors.

Tom Vereijken

Director, European Water Stewardship, Water Stewardship Academy BV

Tom Vereijken worked for over 20 years with the Dutch water technology company Paques B.V. on design and performance of industrial wastewater treatment facilities. He co-initiated a measure to verify progress in sustainable water management, the European Water Stewardship standard (EWS). As current director of the Water Stewardship Academy, he takes concrete steps to combat diffuse pollution of water with focus on medical and agriculture/food product sectors. 

Tom is an elected Executive Board Member of a Dutch Water Authority, Ambassador to Water Europe, and a Full member of the Club of Rome – EU Chapter. He co-edited Elsevier’s ‘Treatise on Water Science’ and contributed to several other recent books, such as ‘Changing the Game’ on sustainable market transformation strategies.
Tom Vereijken received executive MBA-degrees from Nyenrode Business University (NL) and the University of Rochester (NY) and was decorated by the University of Valencia.